AAC&U Board of Directors

Members of AAC&U participate in the association's governance through the board of directors. Board officers and new directors are elected at the business meeting of the membership, held in conjunction with the annual meeting.

Individuals at AAC&U member institutions are invited to suggest member presidents, chief academic officers, deans, and faculty members for service on the board. To recommend an individual, send an e-mail message to Bethany Zecher Sutton at sutton@aacu.org.

AAC&U’s Board of Directors periodically releases official statements on issues of importance to the AAC&U community.  See Statement and Letters to find links to recent statements from the AAC&U Board of Directors.

Biographical Sketches for Our Board Members

For more information, please contact Bethany Zecher Sutton, Secretary to the Board of Directors (sutton@aacu.org/(202) 884-7401).

2017 Officers

Elsa Núñez
Eastern Connecticut State University

Vice Chair
Richard Guarasci
Wagner College

Past Chair
James P. Collins
Virginia M. Ullman Professor of Natural History and Environment
Arizona State University

Royce Engstrom
Professor of Chemistry
University of Montana

President of AAC&U
Lynn Pasquerella

Board Members

Tom Bailey
George and Abby O'Neill Professor of Economics and Education, Teachers College
Columbia University

Mark Becker
Georgia State University

Rebecca Chopp
University of Denver

Grant Cornwell
Rollins College

William J. Craft
Concordia College

Ron Crutcher
University of Richmond

Gena Glickman
Manchester Community College

Jim Grossman
Executive Director
American Historical Association

Tori Haring-Smith
Washington & Jefferson College

Marjorie Hass
Rhodes College

Alex Johnson
Cuyahoga Community College

Tuajuanda Jordan
St. Mary's College of Maryland

Martha Kanter
Executive Director
College Promise Campaign

Carol A. Leary
Bay Path University

Laurie Leshin
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Mary Papazian
San Jose State University

Raymund Paredes
Commissioner of Higher Education
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Robert L. Pura
Greenfield Community College

Lenore Rodicio
Executive Vice President and Provost
Miami Dade College

Judith R. Shapiro
The Teagle Foundation

Elizabeth H. Simmons
Executive Vice Chancellor - Academic Affairs
University of California, San Diego

Kumble Subbaswamy
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Candace Thille
Assistant Professor of Education and Senior Research Fellow, Office of the Vice Provost for Online Learning
Stanford University

David Wilson
Morgan State University

Leslie E. Wong
San Francisco State University

Ex Officio/Chair, ACAD
Thomas Meyer
Vice President for Academic Services and Student Development
Lehigh Carbon Community College

About Public Members

The bylaws of the association, approved in January 1995, allow for the election of up to three directors who are not affiliated with a member college or university. These "public members" of the board provide an informed perspective from outside higher education on issues the board addresses.