Press Release

AAC&U Announces New Directors and Officers for Board of Directors

Washington, DC—At the recent Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, the members of the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) elected three new directors and selected new officers to serve on its board of directors. William Craft, President of Concordia College, was appointed chair of the board. Carol Leary, President of Bay Path University, will continue to serve on AAC&U’s board as past chair. The members also voted to appoint Lenore Rodicio, Executive Vice President and Provost of Miami Dade College, as vice chair of the board. Alex Johnson, President of Cuyahoga Community College, was appointed treasurer of the board.

Three new directors were also appointed to AAC&U’s board:

  • Jonathan R. Alger, President, James Madison University
  • Brandon Busteed, President, Kaplan University Partners
  • Nancy J. Cable, Chancellor, University of North Carolina–Asheville

“It is a privilege to welcome our new board members as we work together in support of AAC&U and our president, Lynn Pasquerella,” said William Craft, president of Concordia College in Moorhead, Minnesota. “The mission and goals of AAC&U, and our commitment to equity, inclusivity, and innovation, are more critical than ever as higher education grapples with the seismic shifts presented by the 21st-century.”

“It is an honor and a privilege to work with such an extraordinary group of higher education leaders. I look forward to learning from the insights and expertise of AAC&U’s new board members as we seek to achieve our shared objective of advancing liberal education and equity as the foundations for excellence in undergraduate education in service to democracy,” said AAC&U President Lynn Pasquerella.

The following individuals currently serve on AAC&U’s board of directors and were reappointed for a second two-year term:

  • Brooke Barnett, Dean of the College of Communication, Butler University
  • Katherine Bergeron, President, Connecticut College
  • David Theo Goldberg, Director, University of California Humanities Research Institute
  • Mary Dana Hinton, President, College of Saint Benedict
  • Paul G. Lannon, Partner, Holland & Knight
  • Ralph Wilcox, Provost and Executive Vice President, University of South Florida
  • Kathleen Woodward, Lockwood Professor in the Humanities and Professor of English; Director, Simpson Center for the Humanities, University of Washington

For a complete list of AAC&U’s board of directors, visit

About AAC&U

AAC&U is the leading national association dedicated to advancing the vitality and public standing of liberal education by making quality and equity the foundations for excellence in undergraduate education in service to democracy. Its members are committed to extending the advantages of a liberal education to all students, regardless of academic specialization or intended career. Founded in 1915, AAC&U now comprises 1,400 member institutions—including accredited public and private colleges, community colleges, research universities, and comprehensive universities of every type and size.

AAC&U functions as a catalyst and facilitator, forging links among presidents, administrators, faculty, and staff engaged in institutional and curricular planning. Through a broad range of activities, AAC&U reinforces the collective commitment to liberal education at the national, local, and global levels. Its high-quality programs, publications, research, meetings, institutes, public outreach efforts, and campus-based projects help individual institutions ensure that the quality of student learning is central to their work as they evolve to meet new economic and social challenges.

Information about AAC&U can be found at