Press Release

AAC&U Announces New Directors and Officers

Washington, DC—At the 2021 Virtual Annual Meeting, five new directors and new officers were elected to the Association of American Colleges and Universities’ board of directors. Lenore Rodicio, senior fellow at the Aspen Institute College Excellence Program, will serve as chair of the board. William J. Craft, president of Concordia College, will serve as past chair. The members also voted to elect Mary Dana Hinton, president of Hollins University, as vice chair of the board, and David Wilson, president of Morgan State University, as treasurer.

The new directors elected to AAC&U’s board of directors are:

  • Christina Cutlip, Senior Managing Director, TIAA Financial Solutions
  • Pam Eddinger, President, Bunker Hill Community College
  • Lanisa Kitchiner, Chief of African and Middle Eastern Division, Library of Congress
  • Eduardo Ochoa, President, California State University, Monterey Bay
  • David Wilson, President, Morgan State University

Two directors were re-elected to a second two-year term:

  • Timothy K. Eatman, Inaugural Dean of the Honors Living Learning Community, Rutgers University–Newark
  • Mary Ann Villareal, Vice President for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, University of Utah

“I’m so grateful to the extraordinary group of higher education leaders who serve on the AAC&U Board of Directors,” said AAC&U President Lynn Pasquerella. “I look forward to working with and learning from this year’s board members as we strive toward our shared objective of advancing the vitality and public standing of liberal education by making quality and equity the foundations for excellence in undergraduate education in service to democracy.”

The board passed a resolution expressing its appreciation for the dedicated service of the following outgoing members:

  • Ronald Crutcher, President, University of Richmond
  • Marjorie Hass, President, Rhodes College
  • Alex Johnson, President, Cuyahoga Community College
  • Tuajuanda Jordan, President, St. Mary’s College of Maryland
  • Carol Leary, President Emerita, Bay Path University
  • Laurie Leshin, President, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Mary Papazian, President, San Jose State University
  • Robert Pura, President (Retired), Greenfield Community College

For a complete list of current AAC&U directors and officers, click here.

About AAC&U

AAC&U is the leading national association dedicated to advancing the vitality and public standing of liberal education by making quality and equity the foundations for excellence in undergraduate education in service to democracy. Its members are committed to extending the advantages of a liberal education to all students, regardless of academic specialization or intended career. Founded in 1915, AAC&U now comprises more than 1,200 member institutions—including accredited public and private colleges, community colleges, research universities, and comprehensive universities of every type and size.

AAC&U functions as a catalyst and facilitator, forging links among presidents, administrators, faculty, and staff engaged in institutional and curricular planning. Through a broad range of activities, AAC&U reinforces the collective commitment to liberal education at the national, local, and global levels. Its high-quality programs, publications, research, meetings, institutes, public outreach efforts, and campus-based projects help individual institutions ensure that the quality of student learning is central to their work as they evolve to meet new economic and social challenges.

For more information, visit