AAC&U Inclusive Excellence Commission

Representing the first stage of a new partnership between both organizations, AAC&U and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) are pleased to announce the establishment of a new Inclusive Excellence Commission. Over the next four years, the Commission will complement HHMI's newest initiative, Inclusive Excellence: Engaging All Students in Science, and is expected to play a crucial role in the development, implementation, and advancement of a conceptual realist model for inclusive excellence in STEM. The Commission will function as a working group and will consist of a core of nationally and internationally recognized experts in the following areas:

  • Underrepresented STEM Student Access and Persistence
  • STEM Faculty Development
  • Institutional Data Analysis for Inclusive Excellence in STEM
  • Institutional Change and Capacity Building for Inclusive Excellence in STEM
  • Evaluation of Complex Systems for STEM Reform

The Commission will be chaired by Dr. Kelly Mack, Vice President for Undergraduate STEM Education and Executive Director of Project Kaleidoscope at AAC&U. Dr. Mack will lead discussions and coordinate the writing and publishing of Commission reports, as well as collaborate with HHMI program officers to develop the Commission's membership.

About the Howard Hughes Medical Institute

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute plays a powerful role in advancing scientific research and education in the United States. Its scientists, located across the country and around the world, have made important discoveries that advance both human health and our fundamental understanding of biology. The Institute also aims to transform science education into a creative, interdisciplinary endeavor that reflects the excitement of real research.

HHMI will open the third round of the Inclusive Excellence competition that will select 30 additional schools for awards this spring. All awards will be for five years and total $1 million. Application details are available online. 

The 2019 Inclusive Excellence competition is open to all four-year institutions that offer a baccalaureate degree in the natural sciences, are not-for-profit, and are accredited by their regional accrediting organization. Institutions that did not submit a pre-proposal or were not invited to submit a full proposal for the 2018 competition have the opportunity to submit a pre-proposal for the 2019 competition.  

Information about the HHMI Inclusive Excellence program can be found at: www.hhmi.org/InclusiveExcellence.