Team Consultations, Institute Mentors and Speakers

Participants will work with Institute mentors from existing TRHT Campus Centers who are currently planning and implementing transformative programming to advance racial healing in collaboration with community partners. In addition to the mentoring opportunities, teams will be able to schedule consulting appointments with AAC&U TRHT team leaders, the national evaluators for TRHT Campus Centers, and experienced racial healing circle facilitators.

Institute Mentors from TRHT Campus Centers

Austin Community College: Samuel Echevarria-Cruz, Dean, Liberal Arts - Social and Behavioral Sciences

Brown University: Janet Cooper Nelson, Chaplain of the University

Duke University: Charmaine Royal, Director of the Center on Genomics, Race, Identity, Difference

Hamline University: David Everett, Associate Vice President of Inclusive Excellence

Millsaps College: Demi Brown, Interim Dean of Students 

Rutgers University – Newark: Sharon Stroye, Director of Public Engagement

Spelman College: DeKimberlen Neely, Associate Dean, Office of Undergraduate Studies

The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina: Jaye Goosby Smith, Assistant Provost for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

University of Hawai’i at Mānoa: Kaiwipuni Lipe, Native Hawaiian Affairs Program Officer, Office of the Chancellor

University of Maryland Baltimore County: Eric Ford, Director, the Choice Program, the Shriver Center

Institute Faculty, Co-Facilitators, and Speakers 

Victoria Christgau
Founder, Connecticut Center for Nonviolence

Gail Christopher
Founder, Ntianu Center for Healing  and Nature

Fanshen Cox DiGiovanni
Playright, Actor, Producer, and Educator

Edwin Estévez 
President, Estrategia Group

Jessica Estévez
President, Estrategia Group

Marjorie Fine
Fundraising Consultant, Roadmap

Dushaw Hockett
Founder and Executive Director, Safe Places for the Advancement of  Community and Equity (SPACEs)

Lanisa Kitchiner
Senior Educator, Smithsonian National Museum of African Art

Tia McNair
Vice President for Diversity, Equity,  and Student Success, AAC&U

Mee Moua
Principal, Interdependent Group

Lynn Pasquerella
President, AAC&U

Gwenn Weaver
National Advisor, American Library Association, TRHT Great Stories Club

Michael Wenger
Senior Fellow, AAC&U; Senior Consultant on Race Relations, W.K. Kellogg Foundation