For Immediate Release

David Tritelli
Vice President for Communications and Public Affairs
202-884-0812 (office)

Eight Graduate Students Honored with K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award

Students Recognized for Commitment to Academic and Civic Responsibility and Promise as Future Leaders of Higher Education

Jan 10, 2011

Washington, DC—The Association of American Colleges and Universities announced today the 2011 recipients of the annual K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award. This award recognizes graduate students who show exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education; who demonstrate a commitment to developing academic and civic responsibility in themselves and in others; and whose work reflects a strong emphasis on teaching and learning. The award is named in honor of K. Patricia Cross, professor of higher education, emerita, at the University of California, Berkeley.

The 2011 recipients are:

  • Adam Bush, American Studies and Ethnicity, University of Southern California
  • Edmond Chang, English, University of Washington
  • Keary Engle, Chemistry, Scripps Research Institute
  • Michelle Gaffey, Literature, Duquesne University
  • Sam Potolicchio, American Government, Georgetown University
  • Chera Reid, Higher Education, New York University
  • Cara Robinson, Urban Affairs and Public Policy, University of Delaware
  • Jennifer Veilleux, Psychology, University of Illinois at Chicago

These individuals were chosen from a pool of more than 225 nominations in a rigorous process through which they demonstrated their leadership ability or potential for exercising leadership in teaching and learning, and their strong commitment to academic and civic responsibility.

 “AAC&U is honored to have a role in identifying and celebrating these inspiring young scholars,” said AAC&U President Carol Geary Schneider.

“This is another stellar year for the future of faculty leadership," said K. Patricia Cross. "Of more than 225 nominations by 124 institutions across a wide range of academic disciplines, the eight award recipients include an impressive number of Outstanding Teaching Awards, a wide variety of experiences serving local and worldwide communities, and a demonstrated concern for the development of others. It is heartwarming to see these impressive and dedicated teachers join the faculties of our colleges and universities, and it is especially appropriate that AAC&U should take the lead in recognizing future faculty leaders.”

“The selection process for the Cross Awards always allows me to reflect on the amazing contributions that Pat Cross has made to higher education in general and to the undergraduate students it serves,” said L. Lee Knefelkamp, AAC&U senior scholar and a member of the award selection committee. “It also reminds me of her enormous contributions to graduate faculty and students over the decades. This year’s cohort of Cross Scholars reflects Pat’s own passion for interdisciplinary work, scholarship that makes a difference in the larger society, and excellence in teaching and leadership. It is always a joy to be a part of this endeavor.”

The 2011 Cross Scholars will be introduced to the AAC&U community at its 2011 Annual Meeting, “Global Positioning: Essential Learning, Student Success, and the Currency of U.S. Degrees,” to be held in San Francisco from January 26-29, 2011. The 2011 Cross Scholars will be honored at the Opening Plenary. They will also be presenters in the session, “Faculty of the Future: Voices from the Next Generation – A Conversation with the K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders.” The Cross awardees will participate in other sessions and meetings throughout the conference.