For Immediate Release

David Tritelli
Vice President for Communications and Public Affairs

Association of American Colleges and Universities Announces Six New Directors and New Slate of Officers for Board of Directors

Dr. Edward J. Ray, President of Oregon State University, Assumes Position as Chair of the Board, taking over from Dr. Kenneth P. Ruscio, President of Washington and Lee University
Feb 3, 2015

Washington, DC—At its recent Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) named six new directors and elected a slate of new officers. Dr. Edward J. Ray, President of Oregon State University, became Chair of the Board, taking over from Dr. Kenneth P. Ruscio, President of Washington and Lee University. Ruscio will continue to serve on AAC&U’s Board Executive Committee as Past Chair. In addition to the appointment of Edward J. Ray, AAC&U members voted to appoint James P. Collins, Virginia M. Ullman Professor of Natural History and Environment at Arizona State University, as Vice Chair of the Board; Sean Decatur, President of Kenyon College, will continue in his three-year term as Treasurer of the Board.

New directors were appointed to AAC&U’s board during AAC&U’s Annual Meeting on January 23, 2015. The new directors include six educational leaders from a wide array of institutions. They are:

Rebecca Chopp, Chancellor, University of Denver
Royce Engstrom, President, University of Montana
Gena Glickman, President, Manchester Community College (CT)
Raymund Paredes, Commissioner of Higher Education, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
David Wilson, President, Morgan State University
Leslie E. Wong, President, San Francisco State University

"I am pleased and honored to serve AAC&U as Chair of its Board and to continue working with colleagues and fellow board members to advance the organization's ideals as proponents of liberal education and inclusive excellence," said Edward J. Ray, President of Oregon State University and Chair of the Board. "Graduates need the key outcomes a liberal education provides to succeed in the worldwide economy, and this work has never been so important."

Individuals serving as officers for the 2015 AAC&U board:

Edward J. Ray (Chair of the Board) became president of Oregon State University in 2003. Dr. Ray earned a B.A. in Mathematics from Queens College (CUNY) and M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in Economics from Stanford University.

Kenneth P. Ruscio (Past Chair of the Board) became president of Washington and Lee University in 2006. Dr. Ruscio earned his B.A. in politics from Washington and Lee University and an M.P.A. and Ph.D. from Syracuse University's Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs.

James P. Collins (Vice Chair of the Board) is the Virginia M. Ullman Professor of Natural History and Environment at Arizona State University.  Dr. Collins received his undergraduate degree from Manhattan College and his doctoral degree from The University of Michigan.

Sean Decatur (Treasurer of the Board) became the president of Kenyon College in 2013. He earned a B.A. from Swarthmore College and a Ph.D. in Biophysical Chemistry from Stanford University.

“Those who serve on AAC&U’s board are strongly committed to a high-quality liberal education for all college students,” said AAC&U President Carol Geary Schneider. “AAC&U is very fortunate to be led by such a talented and dedicated group as we advance our Centennial year agenda of engaging our members and key educational stakeholders in an exploration of the connections between high-quality liberal learning, Americans’ global future, and the equity imperative.”

The following individuals currently serve on AAC&U’s board of directors and were reappointed for a second two-year term:

Johnnella Butler, Professor, Comparative Women’s Studies, Spelman College
Ricardo Fernández, President, City University of New York Herbert H. Lehman College
Richard Guarasci, President, Wagner College
Lucille Jordan, President, Nashua Community College
Robert L. Niehoff, President, John Carroll University

For a complete listing of members of AAC&U’s board of directors, see:

About AAC&U

AAC&U is the leading national association concerned with the quality, vitality, and public standing of undergraduate liberal education. Its members are committed to extending the advantages of a liberal education to all students, regardless of academic specialization or intended career. Founded in 1915, AAC&U now comprises more than 1,300 member institutions—including accredited public and private colleges, community colleges, research universities, and comprehensive universities of every type and size.

AAC&U functions as a catalyst and facilitator, forging links among presidents, administrators, and faculty members who are engaged in institutional and curricular planning. Its mission is to reinforce the collective commitment to liberal education and inclusive excellence at both the national and local levels, and to help individual institutions keep the quality of student learning at the core of their work as they evolve to meet new economic and social challenges.

Information about AAC&U membership, programs, and publications can be found at