2014 Annual Meeting Podcasts

Pre-Meeting Symposium, Keynote Luncheon: Liberal Education Cuisine and the Basic Academic Food Groups
Wednesday, January 22
12:15-1:30 p.m.
Judith Shapiro, President, Teagle Foundation

Networking Breakfast for Women Faculty and Administrators: Grassroots Leadership in a Time of Declining Shared Governance
Thursday, January 23
7:00-8:30 a.m.
Adrianna Kezar

Opening Plenary: The Battle for the American Idea: Equality, Education, and Opportunity
Thursday, January 23, 8:45-10:15 a.m.
E.J. Dionne, Jr., The Brookings Institution

The Future of Scholarship: Presentation of the Ernest L. Boyer Award
Thursday, January 23, 1:30-2:30 p.m.
Edward L. Ayers, President, University of Richmond

HEDs Up: Creating Building Blocks for Deeper Learning in a Specialized World
Thursday, January 23, 2:45-4:00 p.m.
Aaron Bady, University of Texas, Austin
Bridget Trogden, Mercer University
Jim Salvucci, Stevenson University
Salah Khalil, Macat International

Accreditation: Riding the Wave of Innovation—or Going Under?
Thursday, January 23, 4:15-5:15 p.m.
Paul Gaston, Trustees Professor of English, Kent State University
Judith Eaton, President, Council for Higher Education Accreditation
Sylvia Manning, President, Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association

Liberal Education and the Future of Innovation
Thursday, January 23, 5:30-6:45 p.m.
Walter Isaacson, The Aspen Institute

HEDs Up: Personalization through Competencies: Opportunities in E-Quality
Friday, January 25, 10:30-11:45 a.m.
Cori Gordon, Northern Arizona University
Jen Page, Association of American Medical Colleges
Laura Palucki Blake, Harvey Mudd College
Cathrael Kazin, College for America at Southern New Hampshire University

ACAD Keynote and Luncheon: Inspiring Creativity
Friday, January 24, 11:45 a.m.-1:15 p.m.
Cecilia A. Conrad, Vice President of the MacArthur Fellows Program, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

Presidents' Luncheon: Navigating Turbulent Water: Liberal Education and the Public Good
Friday, Juneau 24, 12:00-2:00 p.m.
Earl Lewis, President, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Teaching Naked: How Moving Technology Out of Your Classroom Will Improve Student Learning
2014 Winner of the Frederic Ness Book Award
Friday, January 24, 4:15-5:30 p.m.
José Antonio Bowen, Dean of the Meadows School of the Arts and Algur H. Meadows Chair and Professor of Music, Southern Methodist University
button_mp3.gif Podcast

Closing Plenary: Technology and the Future of Work and Learning: Preparing Students for Success in the New Economy?
Saturday, January 25, 11:00 a.m.-12:15 p.m.
Frank Levy, Daniel Rose Professor Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology