LEAP States Initiative

The LEAP States Initiative offers educators in states, state systems, and consortia an array of opportunities to work together.  LEAP States supports large-scale collaboration, transformational change, and educational alignment to raise the quality of college learning within and across states. The initiative works with the LEAP framework, advancing essential learning outcomes, high-impact practices, and assessment for general and liberal education. Through LEAP States, AAC&U offers practical assistance, encourages innovation, and provides a national voice for systems, consortia, states, and regions participating in LEAP.  Responding to the need in states and systems to address high-quality degree attainment for all students, in traditional, hybrid, and online venues, the initiative works to raise levels of inclusion, equity, and achievement for all students.

LEAP States are formal collaboratives, organized at the state or system level and designated as LEAP States through an application process. LEAP States agreements are broadly inclusive, voluntary, and non-binding. In most cases, the state leadership originates in a public higher education system or a coordinating council. A state system or council generally takes the lead in requesting LEAP State status. AAC&U encourages all LEAP States to form partnerships across educational sectors, 2-year and 4-year, public and private, and to engage P-16, civic, and business leaders. 

LEAP States:

  • California: the California State University System
  • Georgia: University System of Georgia; institutions joining the LEAP State Georgia Consortium; independent institutions interested in partnership
  • Indiana: the Indiana Commission for Higher Education, public and private institutions
  • Kentucky: public two- and four-year, and private institutions in Kentucky
  • Massachusetts: public colleges and universities in Massachusetts
  • Michigan: public four-year institutions in Michigan, Michigan Focus on Essential Learning Outcomes (MIFELO), and Michigan Association of State Universities (MASU).
  • North Dakota: public, private, and tribal colleges and universities
  • Oregon: colleges and universities affiliated with the Higher Education Coordinating Commission
  • Tennessee: Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) - the College System of Tennessee, 13 community colleges and 27 colleges of applied technology
  • Texas: LEAP Texas, a voluntary coalition of institutions of higher education in Texas
  • Utah: the Utah System of Higher Education, public and private universities and colleges
  • Virginia: private institutions, public institutions affiliated with the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV)
  • Washington: WaCLA, Washington (State) Consortium for the Liberal Arts. Two- and four-year public and private colleges and universities, organizations, and individuals
  • Wisconsin: the University of Wisconsin System and the Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (WAICU) 

The LEAP States Initiative also includes consortial partners, such as the Council of Public Liberal Arts Colleges and The New American Colleges and Universities.

For more information, contact Eddie Watson, Associate Vice President for Quality, Advocacy, and LEAP Initiatives, at watson@aacu.org