Faculty: 2021 Institute on Teaching and Learning for Campus-wide Interfaith Excellence


Kyle A. Reyes  currently serves as Vice President of Student Affairs at Utah Valley University (UVU). Dr. Reyes is also a tenured Associate Professor of Education at UVU and taught courses in Multicultural Education, Family & Community Partnerships, and Arts-based Integration. His research focuses on arts-based student empowerment; leadership for equity and access; and institution-wide inclusion and diversity strategic planning. 





Jeffrey Carlson is Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Professor of Theology at Dominican University. He is committed to advancing a counter-narrative to approaches that perpetuate, exacerbate, and benefit from the appalling and widening educational attainment gaps in our society. He believes in educating all students for deep contemplation and rigorous inquiry wherein the pursuit of truth is relentlessly dialogical, fostering a lifetime of meaningful work in service to others and in ways that promote justice and equity. He serves on the board of the Associated Colleges of the Chicago Area and is Trustee Emeritus, Council for a Parliament of the World's Religions. He has published in the areas of interfaith dialogue, Christian theology, integrative learning, and experiential learning.


Mamta Motwani Accapadi is the Vice Provost for University Life at the University of Pennsylvania. Known for her service within student affairs professional associations, NASPA and ACPA, Accapadi has been recognized for her sustained focus on leadership pipeline development and mentorship opportunities for historically underrepresented communities. As a scholar practitioner, her research interests include Asian American identity development, social justice education and issues impacting women of color. She attended The University of Texas at Austin, where she earned a bachelor’s degree in microbiology, as well as a master’s and Ph.D. in higher education administration.


Barbara McGraw, J.D., Ph.D., is Professor of Social Ethics, Law, and Public Life and founding director of the Center for Engaged Religious Pluralism at Saint  Mary’s College of California. Recipient of the 2014 Mahatma Gandhi Award for Advancement of Religious Pluralism, she is a thought-leader in the emerging interfaith leadership field. She speaks on, and is an advocate for, interreligious understanding and cooperation in business, education, government institutions and other professional contexts. Formerly a corporate finance attorney with the international law firm Skadden Arps, Slate, Meagher and Flom, she holds a Ph.D. in Religion and Social Ethics and Juris Doctor Degree from the University of Southern California and is a member of the bar of the United States Supreme Court.


Rebecca Russo is Executive Director of the Campus Climate Initiative at Hillel International. Having recently returned to Hillel from Interfaith Youth Core, where she consulted for university administrators on religious diversity issues, Rebecca now works collaboratively with higher education administrators to create a more positive, productive campus climate in which Jewish students can freely express their identity and values.


Dawn Michele Whitehead is the Vice President of the Office of Global Citizenship for Campus, Community, and Careers at the Association of American College and Universities (AAC&U), director of the Institute on Integrative Learning and Signature Work and co-director of the Interfaith Leadership in Higher Education initiative.  Whitehead’s work focuses on advancing practices and strategies to integrate global and experiential learning across curricular and co-curricular initiatives, general education and the majors, within professional schools, and on-campus and off-campus experiences. She has presented nationally and internationally and has written on these topics and earned her Ph.D. at Indiana University Bloomington.


In addition to these faculty, Institute attendees will have the option of attending sessions with the faculty at the Institute for Integrative Learning and Signature Work. For a list of these faculty see this link.