General Education Maps and Markers: Digital Working Group

The Digital Working Group made recommendations about the most effective ways for technological innovations to support and enhance learning for all students, particularly today’s mobile and diverse students. The group focused on the unique opportunity we have at this point in time to integrate liberal education with the emerging digital learning ecosystem.

The Digital Working Group also contributed key feedback on a forthcoming publication on the digital opportunity for liberal education, by Randy Bass and Bret Eynon. Bass and Eynon describe the choice higher education faces between a further fragmentation of students’ work into the accumulation of discrete credits and credentials and a more integrative use of this ecosystem to provide a fuller, deeper, and more integrated liberal education. This document will be published in early 2016.

Digital Working Group Members

Randall Bass
Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education, Georgetown University
Digital Working Group Chair

José Antonio Bowen
President, Goucher College

Dan Butin
Dean, School of Education & Social Policy, Executive Director, Center for Engaged Democracy, Merrimack College

J. Elizabeth Clark
Professor of English, LaGuardia Community College

Rebecca Frost Davis
Director of Instructional and Emerging Technology, St. Edward's University

Jennifer Ebbeler
Associate Professor of Classics, University of Texas at Austin

Anna Everett
Professor of Film and Media Studies, University of California-Santa Barbara

Michael Feldstein
Partner, MindWires Consulting and e-Literate

Stephen Harmon
Professor and Chair, Learning Technologies Division, College of Education, Georgia State University

Shanna Smith Jaggars
Assistant Director, Community College Research Center, Teachers College, Columbia University

Diana Oblinger
President and CEO, EDUCAUSE

Adrian Sannier
Professor of Practice in the School of Computing, Informatics, and Decision Engineering, Arizona State University

Candace Thille
Founding Director of the Open Learning Initiative, Assistant Professor of Education, Graduate School of Education, and Senior Research Fellow, Office of the Vice Provost for Online Learning, Stanford University