General Education Maps and Markers: Design Working Group

The Design Working Group developed and recommended design principles and guidelines for general education, contributing to General Education Maps and Markers: Designing Meaningful Pathways to Student Achievement. They also drew from leading campus examples and research about what works to advance student learning outcomes for all students. These insights continue to be crucial to AAC&U’s ongoing work to implement the GEMs principles into a variety of projects.

The Design Working Group also contributed key feedback on General Education Transformed: How We Can, Why We Must, by Paul Gaston, which describes the importance of focusing on the continuous, intentional, coherent development of competencies/proficiencies based on students’ needs and interests, as opposed to the mere accumulation of credits.

Design Group Members

David Paris
Vice President for Integrative Liberal Learning and the Global Commons, AAC&U
GEMs Project Director and Design Group Chair

Clifford Adelman
Senior Associate, Institute for Higher Education Policy

Elizabeth Beaulieu
Dean of the Core Division, Champlain College

Aaron Brower
Professor, Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor, University of Wisconsin System

Deborah Bushway
Vice President of Academic Innovation, Capella University

Johnnella Butler
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Spelman College

Anna Davies
Executive Vice President, Student Success and Student Learning, College of the Desert

Paul Gaston
Trustees Professor of English, Kent State University

Amy Goodburn
Associate Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education and Professor of English, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

David Hubert
Professor of Political Science and e-Portfolio Director, Salt Lake Community College

Donna Jurick
Executive Vice President, St. Edward's University

Amy Laitinen
Deputy Director for Higher Education, New America Foundation

William Loker
Dean of Undergraduate Education, California State University, Chico

David Longanecker
President, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education

Elaine Maimon
President, Governors State University

Elise Martin
Dean of Assessment, Middlesex Community College

Beverly Moore-Garcia
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, Miami Dade College

Terry O'Banion
President Emeritus and Senior League Fellow, League for Innovation in the Community College

Kathleen O'Brien
Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Alverno College

Ken O'Donnell
Associate Dean for Academic Programs and Planning, California State University System

Rex Peebles
Assistant Commissioner of Workforce, Academic Affairs, and Research, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Loraine Phillips
Assistant Vice Provost, Institutional Effectiveness and Reporting, University of Texas at Arlington

Kenneth Sauer
Senior Associate Commissioner for Research and Academic Affairs, Indiana Commission for Higher Education

Kristin Wobbe
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Karrin Wilks
Senior Vice President and Interim Provost, Medgar Evers College