Liberal Education News Watch

News Articles and Op-Eds on Liberal Education

Featured Story

Michael Roth, president of Wesleyan University, was interviewed by National Public Radio (August 3, 2014) where he noted that, "Today the shifts in the economy mean technological change will only produce accelerated pace of innovation, of changing relations to audiences. A broad, wide-ranging education is the best way to be able to shape that change rather than just be victimized by it."

Wed, 09/17/2014

HuffPost College

Fri, 09/12/2014

Salt Lake Tribune (Salt Lake City, UT)

Fri, 09/05/2014

Forbes

Mon, 09/01/2014

Sacramento Bee

Thu, 08/28/2014

Fast Company

Thu, 08/21/2014

The College of Wooster Convocation Address

Thu, 08/14/2014

HuffPost College

Sun, 08/03/2014

National Public Radio

Fri, 08/01/2014

Inside Higher Ed

Mon, 07/14/2014

HuffPost College

Thu, 07/03/2014

HuffPost College

Tue, 07/01/2014

HuffPost College

Mon, 06/23/2014

The Olympian (Olympia, WA)

Mon, 06/23/2014

Chronicle of Higher Education

Fri, 06/20/2014

Contra Costa Times (CA)

Thu, 06/19/2014

The Daily Beast

Mon, 06/16/2014

HuffPost College

Mon, 06/09/2014

Huffington Post

Tue, 06/03/2014

Inside Higher Ed

Thu, 05/29/2014

Hollins Magazine

Sat, 05/24/2014

CNN.com Global Square blog

Fri, 05/23/2014

The Washington Post

Mon, 05/19/2014

Chronicle of Higher Education

Tue, 05/13/2014

Casper Star-Tribune, (Casper, WY)

Tue, 05/13/2014

WBUR Radio Boston

Mon, 05/12/2014

Wesleyan University News @ Wesleyan blog

Sun, 05/11/2014

New York Times (print); and New York Times Opinionator blog

Fri, 05/09/2014

The Atlantic

Fri, 05/09/2014

Boston Globe (Boston, MA)

Thu, 05/08/2014

SignPosts for Liberal Education blog

Wed, 05/07/2014

Ashland University's History and Political News blog

Wed, 04/30/2014

Fordham University eNewsroom

Tue, 04/22/2014

University of Texas at Tyler Patriot Talon

Mon, 04/21/2014

Kansas City Star (Kansas City, MO)

Mon, 04/14/2014

Diverse: Issues in Higher Education

Mon, 04/14/2014

Academe blog

Wed, 04/09/2014

Fast Company

Sun, 04/06/2014

Chicago Sun-Times

Fri, 04/04/2014

Huffington Post College

Thu, 04/03/2014

Huffington Post College

Wed, 04/02/2014

Huffington Post College

Fri, 03/28/2014

Wall Street Journal

Fri, 03/14/2014

Huffington Post College

Mon, 03/03/2014

Morning News (Florence, SC)

Thu, 02/27/2014

Education Week's Top Performers blog

Tue, 02/25/2014

Huffington Post College

Tue, 02/25/2014

Huffington Post Education

Mon, 02/10/2014

Huffington Post College

Thu, 02/06/2014

Huffington Post College

Tue, 02/04/2014

Huffington Post College

Sun, 02/02/2014

Philadelphia Inquirer (Philadelphia, PA)

Thu, 01/30/2014

The Hechinger Report

Wed, 01/29/2014

The Hechinger Report

Wed, 01/01/2014

Oregon Stater Magazine (Winter 2014 issue)

Tue, 12/10/2013

Philadelphia Inquirer (Philadelphia, PA)

Tue, 12/10/2013

Huffington Post College

Mon, 12/09/2013

The Hechinger Report

Sun, 12/08/2013

The Day (New London, CT)

Fri, 12/06/2013

Huffington Post College

Thu, 12/05/2013

The Hechinger Report

Tue, 12/03/2013

Huffington Post College

Mon, 12/02/2013

Huffington Post College

Mon, 12/02/2013

New York Times

Mon, 12/02/2013

The Hechinger Report

Sun, 12/01/2013

Patriot-News (Harrisburg, PA)

Wed, 11/27/2013

Forbes.com

Tue, 11/26/2013

North Idaho Business Journal (Couer d'Alene, ID)

Wed, 11/20/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Tue, 11/19/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Mon, 11/18/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Mon, 11/18/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Thu, 11/14/2013

The Washington Post

Tue, 11/12/2013

Inside Higher Ed

Tue, 11/12/2013

Inside Higher Ed

Mon, 11/04/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Mon, 11/04/2013

New York Times

Sat, 11/02/2013

Minneapolis Star-Tribune (Minneapolis, MN)

Fri, 11/01/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Tue, 10/29/2013

Inside Higher Ed

Tue, 10/29/2013

New York Times Room for Debate blog

Fri, 10/18/2013

SignPosts for Liberal Education blog

Thu, 10/17/2013

Inside Higher Ed

Thu, 10/17/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Wed, 10/16/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Thu, 10/03/2013

Inside Higher Ed

Thu, 10/03/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Thu, 09/26/2013

Albany Times-Union (Albany, NY)

Thu, 09/19/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Thu, 09/19/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Thu, 09/19/2013

SignPosts for Liberal Education blog

Sun, 09/15/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Fri, 09/13/2013

New York Times Magazine

Wed, 09/11/2013

U.S. News University Directory

Fri, 09/06/2013

SignPosts for Liberal Education blog

Fri, 09/06/2013

Southtown Star (Chicago, IL)

Thu, 09/05/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Wed, 09/04/2013

Jakarta Globe

Wed, 09/04/2013

CityTownInfo.com

Wed, 09/04/2013

Oberlin College's The Source blog

Tue, 08/27/2013

USA Today

Fri, 08/23/2013

Tampa Bay Times (Tampa, FL)

Wed, 08/21/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Sun, 08/18/2013
Sun, 08/18/2013

Roanoke Times (Roanoke, VA)

Mon, 08/12/2013

McClatchy-Tribune News Service

Tue, 08/06/2013

The Hechinger Report

Thu, 08/01/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Wed, 07/24/2013

Huffington Post College blog

Sun, 07/21/2013

Boston Globe (Boston, MA)

Fri, 07/12/2013

The Hechinger Report

Thu, 07/04/2013
Mon, 07/01/2013

The Hechinger Report (April-July 2013)

Mon, 07/01/2013

Business Officer Magazine (July/August 2013)

Wed, 06/26/2013

Washington Post

Wed, 06/26/2013

Huffington Post College

Wed, 06/26/2013

Des Moines Register (Des Moines, IA)

Tue, 06/25/2013

US News University Directory

Mon, 06/24/2013

New York Times Opinionator blog

Fri, 06/21/2013

Times-Dispatch (Richmond, VA)

Fri, 06/21/2013

Maryland Humanities Council blog

Fri, 06/21/2013

Tampa Bay Times (Tampa, FL)

Fri, 06/21/2013

MetroWest Daily News (Framingham, MA)

Fri, 06/21/2013

Harvard International Review (Summer 2013 issue)

Thu, 06/20/2013

National Public Radio (NPR)

Thu, 06/20/2013

Triangle Business Journal blog (Raleigh/Durham, NC)

Thu, 06/20/2013

Pacific Standard Magazine

Thu, 06/20/2013

Fortune Magazine

Thu, 06/20/2013

The State; Hilton Head Island Packet (Hilton Head, SC)

Wed, 06/19/2013

Huffington Post

Wed, 06/19/2013

Huffington Post, Tacoma Tribune (Tacoma, WA), and the Bellingham Herald (Bellingham, VA)

Wed, 06/19/2013

PBS Newshour

Wed, 06/19/2013

AARP News blog

Wed, 06/19/2013

Raleigh News-Observer (Raleigh, NC)

Wed, 06/19/2013

Education Week blog

Wed, 06/19/2013

Los Angeles Times (Los Angeles, CA)

Wed, 06/19/2013

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel blog (Milwaukee, WI)

Wed, 06/19/2013

Herald-Sun (Durham, NC)

Wed, 06/19/2013

TIME Magazine

Wed, 06/19/2013

Miami Herald (Miami, FL)

Tue, 06/18/2013

USA Today

Tue, 06/18/2013

New York Times

Tue, 06/18/2013

Chronicle of Higher Education

Mon, 06/17/2013

Chronicle of Higher Education

Wed, 06/12/2013

New York Times "The Choice" blog

Mon, 06/10/2013

Inside Higher Ed

Fri, 06/07/2013

Wall Street Journal "At Work" blog

Wed, 05/22/2013

Huffington Post

Sun, 05/05/2013

The News-Gazette (Central Illinois)

Tue, 04/23/2013

ReadMedia (Via Alvernia University, Reading, PA)

Wed, 04/17/2013

The Hechinger Report

Tue, 04/16/2013

The Providence Journal's New England blog

Mon, 04/15/2013

The Hechinger Report

Mon, 04/15/2013

Chronicle of Higher Education

Sun, 04/14/2013

Northwest Indiana Times (Munster, IN)

Wed, 04/10/2013

Smart Higher Ed (blog)

Wed, 04/10/2013
Mon, 04/08/2013

Colby College Distinguished Bicentennial Lecture

Thu, 04/04/2013

Minnesota Daily

Wed, 04/03/2013

Catholic Education Daily

Thu, 03/14/2013

Washington Post

Wed, 03/06/2013

Washington Monthly

Fri, 03/01/2013

George Mason University-General Education Archived Catalog (March 2013)

Tue, 02/26/2013

American Historical Association: AHA Today

Fri, 02/22/2013

Charlotte Business Journal (NC)

Thu, 01/31/2013

Huffington Post

Wed, 01/30/2013

Inside Higher Ed

Tue, 01/29/2013

Huffington Post

Tue, 01/29/2013

Huffington Post

Fri, 01/04/2013

Inside Higher Ed

Thu, 01/03/2013

Huffington Post

Tue, 01/01/2013

Change Magazine (January/February 2013)

Tue, 01/01/2013

American Historical Association's Perspectives on History (January 2013)