About Diversity & Democracy

Diversity & Democracy supports higher education faculty and leaders as they design and implement programs that advance civic learning and democratic engagement, global learning, and engagement with diversity to prepare students for socially responsible action in today's interdependent but unequal world. According to AAC&U’s Statement on Liberal Learning, “By its nature…liberal learning is global and pluralistic. It embraces the diversity of ideas and experiences that characterize the social, natural, and intellectual world. To acknowledge such diversity in all its forms is both an intellectual commitment and a social responsibility, for nothing less will equip us to understand our world and to pursue fruitful lives.” Diversity & Democracy features evidence, research, and exemplary practices to assist practitioners in creating learning opportunities that realize this vision.

Kathryn Peltier Campbell, Editor
Wilson Peden, Associate Editor
Ann Kammerer, Production Editor
Michele Stinson, Production Manager
Caryn McTighe Musil, Senior Editorial Advisor
Susan Albertine, Editorial Advisor
Tia Brown McNair, Editorial Advisor
Debra Humphreys, Vice President for Policy and Public Engagement
Carol Geary Schneider, AAC&U President

Diversity & Democracy Advisory Board
Harvey Charles, Northern Arizona University
Timothy K. Eatman, Syracuse University / Imagining America
Robert Franco, Kapi‘olani Community College / University of Hawai‘i
Gertrude Fraser, University of Virginia
Kevin Hovland, NAFSA: Association of International Educators
Ariane Hoy, Bonner Foundation
Shanna Smith Jaggars, Teachers College, Columbia University
Amy Jessen-Marshall, Sweet Briar College
Hilary Kahn, Indiana University–Bloomington
L. Lee Knefelkamp, Teachers College, Columbia University
Kevin Kruger, NASPA–Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education
George Mehaffy, American Association of State Colleges and Universities / American Democracy Project
Catherine Middlecamp, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Tania Mitchell, University of Minnesota
Eboo Patel, Interfaith Youth Core
Fernando Reimers, Harvard University
Bernie Ronan, Maricopa Community Colleges / The Democracy Commitment
John Saltmarsh, University of Massachusetts, Boston / New England Resource Center for Higher Education
George Sanchez, University of Southern California
David Scobey, The New School for Public Engagement
Daryl Smith, Claremont Graduate University
Robert Teranishi, University of California–Los Angeles

Diversity & Democracy (formerly Diversity Digest) is published quarterly and is available at www.aacu.org. The opinions expressed by individual authors are their own and are not necessarily those of Diversity & Democracy’s editors or of the Association of American Colleges and Universities.