Membership Programs Meetings Publications LEAP Press Room About AAC&U
Association of American Colleges and Universities
Search Web Site
Resources on:
Liberal Education
General Education
Student Success
Institutional Change
Civic Engagement
Global Learning
Science & Health
Connect with AACU:
Join Our Email List
RSS Feed
Follow us on Twitter
LEAP Toolkit
Support AACU
Online Giving Form
About AAC&U

The K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award

AAC&U is pleased to administer the K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award, which recognizes graduate students who show exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education; who demonstrate a commitment to developing academic and civic responsibility in themselves and others; and whose work reflects a strong emphasis on teaching and learning.

The awards honor the work of K. Patricia Cross, Professor Emerita of Higher Education at the University of California-Berkeley.


A listing of all Cross Scholars from 2006 through 2014—many with links to full descriptions of their work—is included below.

Recipients of the 2014 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award:

Recipients of the 2013 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award:

The awards are named in honor of K. Patricia Cross, David Gardner Professor of Higher Education, Emerita, at the University of California, Berkeley.  From 1996 through 2005, the K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Awards were administered by the American Association for Higher Education, where Professor Cross had served as Chair of AAHE’s Board of Directors.

Recipients of the 2012 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award:

Recipients of the 2011 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Awards:

Recipients of the 2010 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Awards:

Recipients of the 2009 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Awards:

  • Holly Bruland, English, University of Hawai'i at Manoa
  • Cara Gormally, Plant Biology, University of Georgia
  • Mitchel T. Keller, Mathematics, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Tessa Lowinske Desmond, Literary Studies, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Tamara Mann, History, Columbia University
  • Elizabeth Munz, Communication, Purdue University
  • Geoff Preidis, Translational Biology and Molecular Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Marcella Runell-Hall, Education, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Lisa Thornhill, Language and Rhetoric, University of Washington, Seattle
  • Kyle Whyte, Philosophy and American Indian Studies, Stony Brook University

Recipients of the 2008 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award:

  • Thomas Eatmon, Jr., Public Policy, Southern University
  • Andrew Farke, Vertebrate Anatomy / Paleontology, Stony Brook University
  • Kyle Gobrogge, Neuroscience, Florida State University
  • Frances Gratacos, Molecular Biology, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey/Rutgers
  • Jennifer Lavy, Theatre History and Criticism, University of Washington
  • Christine Reiser, Anthropology, Brown University
  • Paul Rogers, Education, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Cindy Spurlock, Communication Studies, University of North Carolina
  • Kimberly Van Orman, Philosophy, University at Albany, SUNY
  • Dumaine Williams, Pharmacology, Stony Brook University

Recipients of the 2007 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award:

  • Kasey Baker, English, University of Tennessee
  • Bethany Bowling, Interdisciplinary Studies - Biology Education, University of Cincinnati
  • Amy Cass, Sociology, University of Delaware
  • Stephanie Milling-Robbins, Dance and Women's Studies, Texas Woman's University
  • Evelyn Perry, Sociology, Indiana University
  • Margaret Post, Social Policy, Brandeis University
  • Tarsem Purewal, Computer Science, University of Georgia
  • Sarah Wise, Evolutionary Developmental Biology, University of Colorado at Boulder

Recipients of the 2006 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award:

  • Derek Cabrera, Education, Cornell University
  • Michael Coyle, Justice Studies, Arizona State University
  • Emily Fairchild, Sociology, Indiana University
  • Molly Beth Kerby, Educational Administration, Educational Leadership, and Organizational Development, University of Louisville
  • Diane Nutbrown, Inorganic Chemistry, University of Wisconsin - Madison
  • Regina Praetorius, Human Resource Education, Louisiana State University
  • Victor Raymond, Sociology, Iowa State University
  • Joan Shin, Language, Literacy, and Culture, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Ian Stewart, Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley

About K. Patricia Cross
K. Patricia Cross is Professor of Higher Education Emerita of the University of California at Berkeley, as well as an author of seven books on classroom teaching, learning, and assessment. Her distinguished career in higher education began as Assistant Dean of Women at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, then continued as Dean of Students at Cornell. She served as Distinguished Research Scientist at the Educational Testing Service; Professor and Chair of the Department of Administration, Planning, and Social Policy at the Harvard Graduate School of Education; and then as David Pierpont Gardner Professor of Education at the University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Cross is a member of the National Academy of Education and twice served as chair of the Board of the American Association for Higher Education.  She is a former board member for The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, the Berkeley Public Library, and Elderhostel (now known as Road Scholar).

New Archive:  K. Patricia Cross Speeches—1963 through 2001

A new archive featuring the work of K. Patricia Cross has been launched by San Francisco State University.  The archive includes more than 250 speeches presented by Dr. Cross, as well as seven papers that were commissioned by the League for Innovation in the Community College.  The materials, arranged by decade and organized chronologically and by theme, are available to all—researchers, practitioners, students, and all interested individuals. The archive is expected to be of particular use for doctoral students and researchers who began their careers after the retirement of Pat Cross in 1997.
Complete information about the new archive can be found here


For more information, contact Suzanne Hyers at (202) 387-3760 or